Etude House Zero Sebum Drying Powder | Product Review

One of the things I had in mind when I created this blog was to share my experiences on the beauty products that I have tried and/or am still using.

I have combo/wp-1477282807783.jpgoily skin and so I’ve been looking for products to control that. With the blogs I have read, I came across some items of interest.

My most recent buy was the Etude House Zero Sebum Drying Powder

Product details:  Got the Drying Powder for Php 398.00 (6g). A quick overview from etudehouse.ph says it is “A mineral powder that provides clear skin without dryness or flakiness. Made of mineral powder (80%) to dry oily and waxy sebum breakouts and below the surface efficiently.”

Ingredients:  The ingredients list was really hard to read from the packaging. I was squinting and ended up crossed-eyed. If you want or need the list of ingredients, you can find them at etudehouse.com

The weather, room conditions and skin preparation prior to makeup application all play a factor on how our skin reacts to the products we apply. I’ve noted them down below. Listed here are 4 ways of how I used the Zero Sebum Drying Powder in combination with other skin products. Unfortunately, I don’t have any Before and After photos to show you.

The white powder is really fine and has a mild citrus scent which I like. Application was done using the included microfiber puff. I blended it with a face brush using light strokes just to evenly spread the fine powder across my face.

  • On bare skin

Weather and room conditions:  10am, a bit warm but not humid. I was in an air-conditioned room the whole day.

Skin prep:  Washed face with cleansing bar.

Observation:  At first, it looked like I had put talc powder on and it was too white. But then after it set, it toned down and matched my skin. My face was completely matte and felt a bit too dry but there were no visible dry patches. Started to see some shine after 8 hours. It’s just like having a little bit of highlight across my T-zone. It actually lasted the whole day. My face did not oil up as much even after 12 hours. No retouching or blotting done.

  • Prepped skin

Weather and room conditions:  10am, warm but not humid. Room was air-conditioned.

Skin prep:  Washed face with cleansing bar. In order, I used toner-serum-in-1, pore minimizing serum, and then moisturizer.

Observation:  This time it felt more comfortable since the skin was prepped well. My face didn’t feel dry, it was just matte. By 8 hours, there was a bit more shine than last time. The shine was still tolerable though so I didn’t blot. It was like this for 12 hours.

20161014_155223.jpg

  • With BB cream

I used Garnier SkinActive BB 5in1 Miracle Skin Perfector for Oily/Combo Skin in Light/Medium.

Weather and room conditions:  There were light rain showers that day. Was in an air-conditioned area. I was going around the mall. Hehe.

Skin prep:  Washed face with cleansing bar. In order, I used toner-serum-in-1, pore minimizing serum, and then moisturizer. Next was BB cream and blended it with my fingers.

Observation:  The BB cream gave a glowing effect. I needed to use a blotting paper after 4 hours since my face became a little too shiny for my taste. But it was still pretty good. Didn’t have to retouch.

  • With 2-way cake

This time I used Maybelline ClearSmooth All-in-One Two-Way Cake.

Weather and room conditions:  It was raining out so it was a bit cold though the rain eventually stopped. We attended a wedding at Noon that day so we were in and out of air-conditioned rooms.

Skin prep:  Washed face with cleansing bar. In order, I used toner-serum-in-1, pore minimizing serum, and then moisturizer. Applied the 2-way cake using a wet sponge.

Observation:  While the 2-way cake already gave a me a matte finish, I still decided to put on the Zero Sebum Drying Powder. With the 2-way cake alone, I got oily in 3 hours. I started to have a little shine by around 6 hours. I blotted with oil paper just to see how much oil there was, and there was little. Another 2 hours passed and it was still good, for a total of 10 hours. Only then did I have to use oil paper again.

Overall, I’d give Etude House Zero Sebum Drying Powder 5 out of 5. I believe it stayed true to its promise of providing clear skin without flakiness, and drying oil and sebum breakouts. While the Drying Powder is white and I have a fair complexion, it would still suite other skin tones. Just don’t use too much and let it set. 😉

bittergourd

Sorry for the long post. Here’s a bitter gourd. ;p

4 thoughts on “Etude House Zero Sebum Drying Powder | Product Review

  1. Oh, wow! I didn’t even think about environmental factors playing a role in how well our skincare products perform! So amazing you took the time to try different conditions and document them!!!!
    @beauty.and.seoul.of.texas

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome review! I have oily skin and would like to try this product! Loved that you listed the weather conditions and you tested it on different situations. Is it good for any skin tone? And how long does the whole tub last if you use it everyday?

    Like

    1. Thanks much! Glad you liked it. 🙂
      It’s available in one shade only and is good for all skin tones. It blends well with the skin once it sets.
      You only need a little amount of the powder to last you 4 hours before blotting if you’re really oily. The tub is quite small and may last you about 3 months when used everyday. May be shorter if you use it to retouch more often. This is just an estimate.

      Like

Leave a Reply

