The Choute Essence Fit Stick Balm Foundation | Review

Since I got my Althea Korea haul some time ago, I’ve been itching to try them all. But I got a bit busy. Sorry for the delay.

There have been quite a number of stick foundation in the market for a some time now. Most of the Korean Stick Balm Foundation I’ve seen online claim to have skincare benefits and have built-in brushes which I find really cute and cool. The Choute Essence Fit Stick Balm Foundation is said to have 7-in-1 properties: BB Cream + CC Cream + Foundation + Concealer + Sun Cream + Pore Balm + Essence.

I’m used to using BB Cream which is a lot easier to deal with. Color matching is not a problem even if you are acidic, and application is best done using your clean fingers. I’m trying to go out of my comfort zone so here it is.

20170313_155045_1

Available Shades:  No.21 Light Beige and No.23 Natural Beige

It comes in a matte black box with both English and Korean labels.

collage_choute box

I got the shade No.23 Natural Beige. I wasn’t really sure if I got myself the right shade since it was the first time I ordered foundation online. I usually get the Nude Beige from the counters in compact powder form.

Here is The Choute Essence Fit Stick Balm Foundation swatched on my hand.

20170328_153222_1

I dabbed a little moisturizer on my face to prep it for makeup application. I tried 2 approaches on applying the foundation: one without primer, and another with primer. On both instances, I used the built-in brush for blending and Etude House Zero Sebum Drying Powder as a finishing powder. For the primer, I used Celeteque DermoCosmetics 24-Hour Photoready Matte Primer.

The foundation has a dewy finish and felt a little sticky after blending. But once set with powder, it looked and felt much better. It lasted well after 4 hours. As you can see on the last picture on the right, the mark on my cheekbone (an old battle scar with chickenpox) was barely covered and still noticeable. However, it concealed the red areas around my nose and chin.

collage_left

Here it is applied with primer. Application is much smoother and lasted longer by about 2 hours. Same as with the previous photos, the marks on my cheek (tiny moles) are still very noticeable.

collage_right

What I like about it:

  • Convenient stick form with a built-in brush. Makes the product easy to apply and sanitize/clean.
  • Moisturizing balm type formula. Less caking.
  • Has skincare benefits and 7-in-1 properties.
  • Smooth application and easy to blend. The built-in brush is really a charm.
  • With a light pleasant scent. Though the scent is really faint, if you’re someone who prefers unscented products, this may not be for you.
  • Was able to cover the red areas around my nose.
  • Lasted well after 4 hours even after a sweaty workout. I just patted the sweat off with tissue.

What I don’t like about it:

  • Dewy finish. I’m on the oily side so I prefer matte finishes.
  • A bit sticky, in my opinion. Not good for a humid weather. Stickiness can be remedied with a setting or mattifying powder.
  • Light coverage for a foundation. It claimed to have medium coverage.
  • I noticed that after a few hours, the fine lines on my forehead became very apparent. I’m not sure if it’s because of the dewiness of the formula, the oiliness of my skin, or some mistakes in product application (I’m not a pro and still learning the tricks. :p)

Overall:  A handy stick balm foundation which is best for day time use due to high SPF. Though product description says it’s for all skin types, I would recommend this as best for normal to dry skin types.

Where to Buy:  I got mine from Althea Korea but they don’t seem to have the same brand and variant anymore.

Have you tried stick balm foundations? Which one is your favorite? I’d love to read about it. 😉

 

Till next time!

Cris 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

